Skip to content

BEES!

May 31, 2012

Some beautiful shots of our bees at the Dirtbox taken by Jon this week:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Jon is truly the bee whisperer… he tends these lovely ladies in short sleeves and flip flops, spraying his bare hands with sugar water to make himself sweeter and less threatening. He’s never been stung. The bees love him.

On the other hand, I can’t put one past the bees. They know just how neurotic I am, and respond to me with frenzied explosions of buzzing around my head (well-protected, mind you). Yesterday, while transferring a newly-caught swarm into their box at the ROCO site… I missed, causing a cascade of reactions that resulted in the biggest, angriest cloud of bees I’ve ever seen, chasing me down the field. And multiple stings. Nothing to do, but cover them up as best as I could and wait for Jon to come home and clean up my mess.

Which he did, as I watched from a safe distance. Talking to them and flattering them as he went, he brushed tens of thousands of calm bees into their new home, like he’s been doing it his whole life.

Amazing. Amazing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

