Skip to content

Sauteed Beans with Summer Savory and Sage

August 17, 2011

That’s quite the alliteration.  Lots of ‘s’ words in this recipe, like so so good, and scrumptious, and I seriously want more.  I’m house/dog sitting in West Linn this week and had a really long drive home from work in McMinnville today.  Albeit, a serene drive along Wilsonville Road and Stafford Road (I guess I needed to clear my head so I avoided 99W even if it meant tacking on 15 extra minutes to my commute), I wasn’t feeling terribly motivated to cook anything when I got to the house.  I noshed on a little hummus and red bell pepper while standing in front of an open fridge and just started pulling out whatever I had from my CSA box this week and anything else I could find: fresh herbs, a bag of pole beans and bush beans, a red onion and some grilled balsamic chicken from last night.  It seemed easy enough to just toss all that in a saute pan and have dinner in 10 minutes.

Then I remembered Nadine’s email from this week that mentioned the beans and summer savory:

“We had some German friends staying with us this past weekend who saw the summer savory in the garden and exclaimed “Gartenbohnenkraut!”, translated as “garden bean herb”. Very common over there, apparently, and a great pairing with green beans and dried beans. Cooking beans with summer savory makes them easier to digest, they say.”

Brilliant.  I think summer should be about eating foods that are easy to digest and that our belly’s loooooove.  So I took her advice and ate one of the simplest and most delicious meals of the summer.  And the presentation of this dish is a delight to the eyes because of all the different colored beans: Dragon Tongue beans, Helda beans, Goldmarie beans, and Romano Gold beans. You’ll impress everyone.  Enjoy!

Sauteed Beans with Summer Savory and Sage
Serves 2ish (or one if you just can’t get enough)

Ingredients:
A huge handful of mixed beans, cut in half
1 tbsp fresh summer savory, minced
1 tbsp fresh sage, minced
1/4 of a red onion, minced
small drizzle of balsamic vinegar
drizzle of olive oil
s/p to taste

Method:
In a large skillet, heat olive oil on medium heat.  Add onion, herbs,  and a little salt and saute until onions are aromatic and translucent, 2-3 minutes.  Then add beans, a little more s/p to taste and saute, stirring or tossing often until tender but still crisp: 5-8 minutes.  Towards the end of cooking, drizzle with just a little balsamic vinegar and give a good toss to lightly coat all the beans.  The beans are done whenever you want them to be.  Some people like them uber crisp and practically raw, some people like them very well done.  It’s up to you.  You just have to love them.

I ate mine with some chicken I grilled up last night that I marinated in a grainy mustard balsamic vinaigrette.  The portion wasn’t huge but I feel stuffed and satisfied (more ‘s’ words!  Told you there would be a lot).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

