Skip to content

Super crazy energy smoothies.

July 21, 2011

So, I’ve been trying to quit coffee.

Not really, I love coffee too much, especially the stuff that Trevin has been roasting for us every week.  But at the very least, I’ve been trying to avoid having that mid-day cup to muster enough energy to slog through these humid, grey afternoons.

A few weeks ago I stopped into this little health food store in Dallas, OR (I know, it sounds improbable, but it’s true!) on my way down to the Bread Board to pick up our weekly loaves. There is this dynamo of a woman who owns the place, and she zips around like nobody’s business. I wanted to know how she had so much energy! She told me she drinks veggie/fruit juices all day long.

And then she handed me this crazy concoction of carrot juice, cantaloupe, peaches and a big handful of organic greens, all blended together with some ice. It was amazing. I’ve been back every week since.

But lately, I’ve been making these at home in the afternoon, too… here’s what goes into my favorite one so far. It’s gonna take some equipment but well worth the investment if you don’t already own a juicer and a blender:

  • 8-10 organic juicing carrots
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 1 cup frozen blackberries
  • 1 orange
  • 2 big handfuls of kale, chard, romaine… whatever greens you want.

JUICE the carrots, celery and cucumbers in a juicer. If you don’t have one, you could buy carrot juice at the store. BLEND the rest of the ingredients together with the carrot/celery/cucumber juice in a blender. Just throw the whole peeled orange in there.  Don’t do what I did and try to blend your carrots. It’s gross.

Anyway, it sounds like a bunch of flavors that wouldn’t go well together. But these smoothies are SO good, and give you tons of crazy energy. I don’t think we’re ever going to grow carrots in the quantity you’d need them for juicing in our heavy clay soils, so we buy these huge 15 lb bags of organic juicing carrots from Fred Meyer, and then add whatever veggies and fruit we want to the carrot juice base. Juicing is pretty wasteful, but the chickens love the carrot pulp! And it makes a great base for home composting. Give it a try, you’ll love it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 21, 2011 11:46 pm

    Will you make me one next time I come over? That sounds like just the afternoon pick up I need 🙂

Leave a Reply

