Skip to content

Kale Chips: The Potato Has a Rival!

June 16, 2011
by

If you’re like me, salty crunch snacks are my favorite.  The most therapeutic snack food for me is Trader Joe’s Blue Corn Tortilla Chips and Mediterranean Hummus.  If I lacked self-discipline, I’d eat the entire tub of hummus in one sitting.  So good!

Lately I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about Kale Chips and how they’re way better than potato chips or tortilla chips and super healthy.  No need to feel any guilt about eating an entire bowl or bag of them.  That’s my kind of snack!  So I snooped around for some recipes and came up with this one.  I love these because you can be as creative as you want and flavor them 100 different ways.

Baked Kale Chips:

Ingredients:
A bunch of Kale (literally, as much as you want.  It’ll shrink so be generous), washed, dried and torn into chip size pieces.
Small drizzle of olive oil (flavored olive oil would be delish)
Salt, to taste (go easy here.  Easier to add more than to take away.  I learned this the hard way)
Seasoning of your choice:  I did one batch with a drizzle of soy sauce and toasted sesame seeds, and one batch with red pepper flakes, paprika, and cumin.  But you can do whatever suits your fancy.

Method:
Preheat oven to 350°
Place kale pieces in a bowl, add a small drizzle of oil (too much oil makes them limp and greasy) and salt and toss until well coated.  Then add whatever seasoning you want.  Try splitting up the kale and doing a couple different batches with different flavors.
When kale is coated and seasoned, arrange on baking sheet in single layer.
Bake for 7 minutes or so, then flip the kale a bit so the pieces don’t get stuck and lay flat on the baking sheet.
Bake for another 7 minutes.  Keep an eye on the chips because they can burn easily.  You’ll want to bake them til they are well done and crispy but not burnt.
Allow to cool and eat ’em up with no guilt whatsoever.  I promise you’ll be eating these all summer.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Polly Basile permalink
    June 17, 2011 2:54 am

    Whoa, Mari…does this ever sound good! I’m trying this tomorrow 🙂

  2. nadinelew permalink*
    June 17, 2011 3:20 am

    polly, works in your dehydrator, too! 😉

  3. June 24, 2011 1:19 am

    Want. Seriously, all these recipes are killing me! I’m so jealous of the CSAers this summer I can’t stand it.

    • nadinelew permalink*
      June 26, 2011 4:02 am

      cat. we miss you. come back to us, we’ll feed you salads.

Leave a Reply

