Skip to content

Goddess Greens

June 14, 2011
by

Nadine let me in on a little secret yesterday: the greens are growing like crazy and we’ll all get our fair share of them in our CSA boxes.  Some greens are great for braising, but others are better in a salad.  I love salads, but I I’m not a huge fan of store bought salad dressing.  Ever look on the ingredient list of those bad boys?  Yikes!  They can be scary.

Since we’ll all be eating a lot of salads, I wanted to share with you my all time favorite salad dressing.  My dearest friend Lindsay turned me on to this when she put it on her blog, and I haven’t been able to get enough.  I always have a jar of this dressing in my fridge.  I put it on EVERYTHING!  My favorite combination is spinach, toasted slivered almonds, avocado, and golden raisins but you can be as creative as you want.  So without further ado, I present to you…

Tahini Goddess Dressing
Yields about 1 cup

Ingredients:
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp kosher salt
1/2 cup sesame tahini*
4 tsp soy sauce
2 tbls apple cider vinegar
2 tsp honey or agave nectar
1/3 cup of water **
2-3 tsp finely chopped cilantro

Method:
Put everything except the water into a food processor or bullet blender and pulse until all ingredients are combined and creamy.  Give it a taste and add more of whatever flavor you want.  If dressing is too thick, add water teaspoon by teaspoon until desired consistency.  Store in a cruet or mason jar in your fridge and enjoy as much as you can. 

*If you don’t want to spend $10 or so on a jar of tahini, Trader Joe’s makes a tahini sauce that is less expensive.  If you use that, use 3/4 cup and only add salt at the end if you feel like it needs more.
**You probably won’t need to add extra water if you use the Trader Joe’s tahini sauce.

One Comment leave one →
  1. nadinelew permalink*
    June 14, 2011 4:08 pm

    Thanks Mari!

    I love this recipe! You’ll all likely get some ‘confetti’ cilantro this week (looks different from the flat-leafed cilantro, it’s an open-pollinated variety… you’ll know by how it smells!). And I’m betting the spring garlic would work well in this recipe, too!

    My favorite dressing for spring salads is:

    one part olive oil
    one part white balsamic vinegar
    squeeze of lemon
    blob of dijon mustard
    salt/pepper to taste
    thinly sliced spring onion

    all whisked together until it is emulsified and tossed in with fresh lettuce and handfuls of fresh herbs.

    Post your favorite dressing recipes!

Leave a Reply

