Skip to content

This week’s share (9/7/09)

September 8, 2009

A big, fat thank you to Micah for helping me with harvest yesterday! As well as showing up with 2 flats full of his incredible canned goods… Look for those in upcoming shares. A few new surprises that I can’t wait to try.

This week you will find:

TOMATOES! It was awesome to be able to put a box full of tomatoes in each share this week. They are so freaking tasty right now, and it’s a great feeling to be able to share that gift 🙂 If you feel like you have more tomatoes than you know what to do with, check back here for my brother-in-law’s homemade tomato sauce recipe (have to find where I hid it first!). He is italian. Enough said.

Cucumbers – Regular, Armenian, and lemon cucumbers… Chloe said she has been making tahini every week. Vanessa made a greek salad to bring to work today. I’ve been slicing them up and putting them in my water bottle. The options are endless. Just don’t do what Micah did – he wasn’t sure what the small, ball-shaped ones were, and sliced them up into a saute. Apparently it wasn’t very tasty 🙂

Grapes! Our first time offering table grapes, and holy magruder, these things are awesome. We aren’t sure what varietal they are, but they are definitely on the sweet side. Delightful.

Bag o’ greens – Bok choy, radicchio, basil (lots of it! make pesto!), and green beans. The green beans are excellent, and I had a hard time not putting every other one I picked directly into my mouth…

Plums – Did I mention we have a lot of plums? Micah and I spent over 30 minutes working on that tree, filling an entire tuperware storage bin (see below), and it doesn’t even look like we touched the tree. Micah took home the majority to create another canned treat for us all…

Walter inspecting the enormous plum harvest...

Walter inspecting the enormous plum harvest...

The shares in preparation...

The shares in preparation...

ENJOY!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Vanessa permalink
    September 9, 2009 1:44 am

    This is one of my favorite boxes, yet! 😉
    My neighbor just came over and asked if I’d take multiple bags of his plums -same variety as those in from the farm. I’ve been making plum jam from them for years now and it’s fantastic. Of course I thought of the CSA and figured we could make jam for next week or the following! I’m busy Saturday, but I’m hoping to make it down Sunday (Al?) to work. SO, if you do have any empty jars, please bring them by Alix’s!!!
    Thanks again you guys!
    Vanessa

  2. nadine permalink
    September 9, 2009 2:13 pm

    Nice job, Breeze and Micah!!

    Vanessa, Micah has most of our canning stuff and a big tote full of plums… maybe some canning collaboration is in the works?

  3. jon permalink*
    September 9, 2009 7:44 pm

    The colors in this weeks dirtbox are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

